And so The Chronicles of Atom and Luna begins…..

So here’s some good news for families and all lovers of words, maps and mythical tales.

From Monday 30th November- Funnelwick Limb, BBC 6 Poet Music in Residence Murray Lachlan Young And Orbital’s Paul Hartnoll are releasing a series of magical fantasy adventure audio tales called Tales From The Forest.

The story series – called – TALES FROM THE FOREST is the start of THE CHRONICLES OF ATOM & LUNA, an epic tale which brings to life the magical world of Atom and Luna across a range of live and digital forms. The story centres around 11 year old twins Atom & Luna – who are left home alone in the care of their magical child minder, Iffly Sney. But when Iffly falls terribly ill, only the twins can save him by seeking out the mysterious Old Mother Redbeard in the heart of a magical forest. It is a journey which will change their lives forever.

Audio Trailer

Each tale is a story in its own right, and each one taking us deeper into the magical forest Atom and Luna must pass through in order to find Old Mother Redbeard. Here’s the full release list…

The Chronicles of Atom and Luna
Episode One THE GREAT OAK – Monday 30th October
Episode Two FORTUNE AND THE TREE – Friday 4th December
Episode Three THE GLASS BALL – Monday 7th December
Episode Four THE FOOL – Friday 11th December
Episode Five THE LOVERS – Monday 14th December
Episode Six THE CHILDREN – Friday 18th December

The tales are all released free of charge (thanks to funding from the National Lottery via Arts Council England) as audio files and on you tube with captions and BSL. Find them all at

Further Chronicles in the project will be announced across various live and digital platforms in 2021.To find out more about how the story will unfurl – sign up to the Funnelwick Limb newsletter at

Leave a comment